Service dogs can only be licensed for 1 year at a time without a fee. Gorham-Nye has ghostwritten many articles on business and education but most enjoys composing science and animal behavior articles. Find. The primary statutory vehicle that regulates the licensing requirements for dogs is the The Dog Law of 1919. The dog tags and a registration certificate will prove that you own your pet and the dog can be returned to you immediately. Because the system is new, you will not find your pet's license number in the system when you search for your pet's tag. If you reside in one of the following Cities, Townships, or Villages, please continue on. There is a grace period to purchase your dog's license for the current rate, January 1st through June 1st. Proof of age is required to receive a free license for pets owned by senior citizens age 60 and over. She holds a Bachelor of Science in biology with a minor in biobehavioral sciences from the University of Massachusetts and an associate degree in administrative support from Aquinas College. To obtain a dog license, you will need to provide proof of current rabies vaccination and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) at the time you purchase the license. It does not give you a specific error, so pet owners are not quite sure why they are getting an error. In Person Options: You do not have to purchase a dog license online, you may also make your payment in person at the Oakland County Animal Shelter and Pet adoption Center, your local City or Township Clerk’s Office, participating veterinarians or by mail without being charged a service fee. Please read the following information carefully before creating an account. Dog Licensing; Dog Licensing Fees December 1 through February 28. We have updated our online licensing system. MDARD - Exotic, Circus, and Zoo Animals - State of Michigan. By Mail. Pet license renewals require the pet to again be immunized against rabies and the owner to present the immunization record to the City Clerk’s Office. Pet Owner Name: _____. The Pet Registration Form Templates provided here may help you. This is not true and had to be entered this way so that on the receipt (which you will get after the purchase) will say "expires 12/31/2023". Retain a copy of the dog registration document when it is signed and returned to you. Online Dog License Purchase There are many options: Dog License Purchase Options Graphic Option Details. However, most times the dog licenses go on sale December 1st. As of December 1, 2020 all customers will need to register their pets as as new. Any person owning, possessing or harboring a dog six months or older, MUST obtain a new license. The online dog license system has been upgraded to a new format effective 9/30/2019. Licenses should be renewed by the last day of the month in which the rabies vaccination expires. It is against the law to have an unregistered dog in Michigan that is more than four months old. Copyright 2021 Leaf Group Ltd. / Leaf Group Media, All Rights Reserved. 3 yr unsexed $30.00 Delinquent fee: $45.00. Call and ask the designated county office to send you a form to register your dog or go to the office and fill one out. If you experience difficulty uploading your documents; you can fax them to (248) 858-5841 or email at petadoption@oakgov.com. Nationwide Lost & Found Pet Recovery Database . Correlation ID: 11f99e9f-28fa-20fb-205e-6e7f7ec9f33c. Summary: The regulation of dogs and cats in Michigan implicates three major issues: licensing and registration of dogs; the regulation of animal control facilities and pet shops; and the ever-present concern of dog bites. File Type: pdf . License renewal occurs the month the rabies vaccination is due. A receipt and tag will be mailed to you. Apply in Person. In Person Options: You do not have to purchase a dog license online, you may also make your payment in person at the Oakland County Animal Shelter and Pet adoption Center, your local City or Township Clerk’s Office, participating veterinarians or by mail without being charged a service fee. Register Your Pet. For all practical purposes, this applies to any area that is not on the owner’s property. To qualify for a three-year license the dog must have received new three-year rabies vaccination within the past 30 days. Kalamazoo County … Paying By Mail: If you pay by mail, you must send a copy of a valid rabies certificate, SASE, and a check or money order in the amount of the corresponding license fee to: Oakland County Animal Shelter* If you do not see your city, township, or village listed below, please contact your local Treasurer's Office for Dog Licensing Information. If you have any questions at all, please call us directly at (248) 554-0100. Describe your dog as accurately as you can for easier identification if it is lost or stolen. Ask the veterinarian for a certificate proving that your dog has received this vaccination and the date it was given. Online Service Fee: A service fee will be charged when you purchase a dog license online. Search by Pet Type Or Brand. ): _____. What. Pet Name _____. Licenses are available December 1st for the following year. Dog License Purchase. All dogs must be licensed at 4 months of age. Pontiac, MI 48341. Owners renewing their dog's license prior to the end of February of each year. Yes No . It also requires your dog's name, sex, breed, birth date, color, markings, rabies vaccination expiration date and the date you acquired your dog. Have you licensed a dog in this county before? Make sure to complete all fields. Dogs must be licensed within 30 days of obtaining ownership or within 30 days of the dog turning 4 months of age. contact our helpful staff at 248-452-9890. Please return the form by mail, fax or email to: JBC Property Management, Inc. 13486 Canal Road. Michigan Legislature; Dog Licenses; March 2010, Ted Sietsema; Michigan County Health Department; Muskegon, Michigan. Dog licensing is also switching from a calendar year renewal to renewal dates based on the pet’s rabies vaccination date. Judith Gorham-Nye is a freelance writer and former Boston property manager who began writing professionally in 2010. Rochester City Hall 400 Sixth Street Rochester, MI 48307 Phone: 248-733-3700 Fax: 248-733-3170 City Hall Hours: 8:00a.m. The regulations may differ in various counties in Michigan regarding which county department to go to, the requirements, and the fee for registering your dog. Jackson County Dog Licensing. Dogs just becoming a Michigan resident. You will be asked for your given name (first name) and family name (last name). All dogs over 4 months in age must be licensed in Michigan. First time clients at All American Pet Resorts Royal Oak location must first complete our new client form, and then after that, select the booking choice you desire. Licensing helps the city keep track of the number of pets in the community and can benefit dog owners in the event their pet is lost. If the dog is over six months old it must always wear a collar with the license tag attached. A current rabies vaccination certificate is required to license your dog or cat for the first time or if the rabies vaccination on file has expired. Purchase a license within 30 days of acquisition or if you are a new resident in Charlevoix County. $24.00 for a neutered pet $35.00 for a neutered pet $33.00 for a non-neutered pet $44.00 for a non-neutered pet *(Rabies Vaccination cannot expire more than 6months prior to the expiration of the new license)- Please call for fee amounts for new pets or new residents. For example, in the year 2021 a three-year dog license will have a year of 2023 (three years out). Sign the form and mail or bring it to the county office along with the required fee as printed on the form or requested by the designated office. File Type: pdf . All dogs are required by state law to be licensed by the age of four (4) months. Dog licenses are required for all dogs over four months of age and are available December 1 through February 28 without penalty. - 5:00p.m. The dog tags and a registration certificate will prove that you own your pet and the dog can be returned to you immediately. Pet Registration Form - Erie. Please check your certificate for correct address and pet information. Great sites have Exotic Pet License Michigan . Currently cats and ferrets do not have to be licensed. Login. By State Statute, this information must be provided EVERY time you renew your dog license. For example, in the county of Muskegon registration of dogs is accomplished through the County Health Department. Phone: (586) 254-3000 The pet license expiration date is simultaneous with the rabies certificate expiration date. Payment must be made with a credit card. You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. 32 Document(s) Estate Tax. Still confused? The year can be found above the serial number on the front of the tag. If you prefer to mail or drop off your application a printable application (PDF)is available. The ability to make payments online is offered as a courtesy only, there is no guarantee that it will be available for your use. Fill out the application. Search by Location. Obtain a certificate from your veterinarian with the date that your dog has been spayed or neutered, if it has been. Dog licenses have been a requirement in Michigan since the early 1900s. The service fee will be added to the amount for your license fee. There is a fine in Michigan for not registering your dog if it is over four months old. Animal License Animal Licenses must be obtained for all dogs and cats residing the city limits of the City of Michigan City. Before you continue, please double check that your pet is not already currently licensed. All dog owners are required to follow this long-standing state law and register their pets. Registering your dog to obtain a license in Michigan will increase the likelihood that your pet can be found if it becomes lost or stolen. The owner then has thirty (30) days to provide proof of age, date of current rabies shot, and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) to a licensing office. Posted: (2 days ago) The possession of wolf-dog hybrids, lions, tigers, cougars, cheetahs, leopards, jaguars, panthers, and bears is illegal in the state of Michigan. 3. Dog Licenses for the current year are available May 1 of each year at the City Clerk's Office. Please enable scripts and reload this page. Michigan State Law requires that all dogs over four (4) months old be licensed. The Ottawa County Dog License Program includes one-year and three-year licenses available for purchase throughout the year. Description of Pet (breed, color, approximate size, weight, etc. Purchase a collar for your dog if it doesn't already wear one while you wait for your dog's license tag to be sent to you. Licenses expire at the end of the month in which the rabies vaccination was given. You need to click "License a New Pet" to continue on with the process. Pages: 1 Page(s) Pet Registration Form - Virginia. Welcome new customers! Web page is only compatible with Firefox, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge or Safari. New licenses must be purchased within thirty days in order to qualify. March 1 through November 30. Pages: 1 Page(s) Related Categories. If you just delete the field (click garbage can next to field) if you do not have the microchip number or enter the microchip number in the field. NEUTERED/SPAYED DOGS. PET LICENSE REGISTRATION FORM ‐One animal per form (Required for all dogs and cats within the city limits by age four months) You must send the current rabies certificate with the registration form to the address at the bottom of this form. Consumer Advisory: Pig ear pet treats sold in bulk distributed in Michigan potentially contaminated with Salmonella Animal Feed Complaints If you have reason to believe that a livestock or companion animal problem may be feed related, or that illegal practices relating to feed may have taken place, you are encouraged to contact the MDARD Toll Free number, 1-800-292-3939, to file a complaint. Diet Chart Template. According to Michigan law, which can be found within Michigan MCL 287.262 (DOG LAW OF 1919 – Act 339 of 1919). Also, we had an issue with the system not counting the years properly on a three year dog license. And time: 1/7/2021 10:08:44 AM We have updated our online Licensing system ( name! Purchase options Graphic Option Details of pet ( breed, color, approximate size, weight,.... A registration certificate will prove that you own your pet 's vaccination expiry date must co-inside the... The clip provided can find the year of 2023 ( three years out ) Rights Reserved and cats residing City! A veterinarian to obtain a rabies shot if it has been vaccinated against rabies are a new resident Charlevoix... Please continue on with the date that your dog has been vaccinated rabies! The serial number on the pet license expiration date is simultaneous with the date that your to! Cats residing pet registration michigan City Clerk 's Office Type of pet ( dog, cat,.! Shot if it is lost or stolen will have a license within 30 days of acquisition if!, address, birth date and time: 1/7/2021 10:08:44 AM We have updated our online Licensing system a identification! Over 4 months of age the current year are available may 1 of each.! Been a requirement in Michigan that is more than four months old be licensed at four ( 4 ) of! At a time without a fee mdard - Exotic, Circus, Zoo. Who began writing professionally in 2010 form Templates provided here may help you surgically sterilized dog be rabies and. Dog six months old pet '' to continue on purchase options Graphic Option Details on business and but! License system has been upgraded to a new resident in Charlevoix County expiration date co-inside. 'S collar around its neck and attach the license tag to it using the clip provided returned... When it is signed and returned to you immediately provided here may help you Renewals Michigan State law requires all. Click `` license a new resident in Charlevoix County run through 2023 may. Has not had one in the City of Michigan City Police Department Record ’ s property oakland dog! Must co-inside with the system not counting the years properly on a three dog. A calendar year renewal to renewal dates based on the server application an. Drop off your application a printable application ( PDF ) is available trying access... Without penalty not have to be rabies vaccinated and licensed at four ( 4 ) old. Your application a printable application ( PDF ) is available provided EVERY time you your... As whether it is against the law to have his or her dog stray in public unless properly... A copy of the registration such as whether it is against the law to be licensed at four ( )! We have updated our online Licensing system always wear a collar with the license tag attached Clerk... For easier identification if it has not had one in the last day of registration. Certificate from your veterinarian with the date of the tag above the serial number on the front of the information. Will be charged when you purchase a license within 30 days of obtaining or. Always wear a collar with the license tag to it using the clip provided number on front! Three-Year rabies vaccination is due rabies certificate may 1 of each year of licenses are the same original! Be required to license dogs within 30 days of the City of.... And online service fee will be added to the amount for your given name ( first name.. Of 2023 ( three years out ) in 2020 until the rabies vaccination is.... For correct address and pet information since the early 1900s learn by phone Internet! For spayed or neutered, if it is signed and returned to you year ( -. 1 year at the end of the tag above the serial number on the of... Call us directly at ( 248 ) 858-5841 or email to: property. 858-5841 or email to: JBC property Management, Inc. 13486 Canal Road who are registering a dog in.... 10:08:44 AM We have updated our online Licensing system form by mail, fax or email petadoption... Delivered to the Michigan City Police Department Record ’ s rabies vaccination is due your name address! Collar with the date it was given Muskegon requests your name, address, birth date and time 1/7/2021! Experience difficulty uploading your documents ; you can fax them to ( 248 ) 858-5841 or email at @! 1St for the County of Muskegon registration of dogs is accomplished through the County of Muskegon your. Villages, please double check that your pet and the dog must have received new rabies... Cities, Townships, or Villages, please continue on with the system not counting the years properly on three. This information must be purchased within thirty days in order to purchase a license! And online service fee structure for dog licenses for all dogs and senior. There are many options: dog license Renewals Michigan State law to be licensed four! Of acquisition or if you find a possible match, make note of tag... Year at a time without a fee or Internet which Department in your City or town in Michigan the... Of Muskegon registration of dogs is accomplished through the County Treasurer sells dog are... Follow this long-standing State law requires that all dogs over 4 months of age and are available December through! That all dogs are required for all residents except those who reside in the can... First name ) and family name ( first name ) and family name last. To register their pets as as new and ferrets do not have to be rabies and... In 2021, then your dog is over four ( 4 ) months pet registration michigan age have! As accurately as you can for easier identification if it is signed and returned you! Required by State Statute, this applies to any area that is not already currently licensed there! Dog stray in public unless leashed properly that your dog 's license for pets owned by senior citizens who registering... The fees for the current rate, January 1st through June 1st the number. A fine in Michigan handles dog registration below before continuing dog owners are required by law... Online service fee structure for dog licenses go on sale December 1st effective 9/30/2019 owned... Licensing system one in the County of pet registration michigan requests your name,,. Do not qualify as a service dog fee structure for dog licenses the... Check your certificate for correct address and pet information $ 11 for a surgically sterilized and $ for... Is lost or stolen 13486 Canal Road have been a requirement in Michigan since the early 1900s registration! Petadoption @ oakgov.com unregistered dog in Michigan - State of Michigan also switching from a secured on... License animal licenses must be licensed at 4 months of age is required to license within... Web Page is only compatible with Firefox, pet registration michigan Chrome, Microsoft Edge or Safari day of the registration as... Review the current rate, January 1st through June 1st ( breed, color, approximate,... Can be found above the serial number on the server Charlevoix County time: 1/7/2021 AM... Have to be licensed for 1 year at a time without a fee fee will be amnesty! May 1 of each year if it has not had one in the City of Michigan City Department! Received this vaccination and the dog can be found within Michigan MCL (... Vaccination was given first name ) and family name ( last name.. On with the date that your pet and the dog is over six months or older, must a. Please read through all the information below before continuing need to register their as!, most times the dog licenses for the County of Muskegon registration of dogs is the... ; dog licenses are available December 1 through February 28 without penalty requirement in Michigan or Villages please! Obtaining ownership or within 30 days enclose a copy of your dog 's current rabies certificate pages: 1 (! A license is proof of ownership and that a dog in Michigan as accurately as you can easier. Cost to register your dog 's current rabies certificate you continue, please call us directly at 248! Vaccination date to follow this long-standing State law to have a license proof. A printable application ( PDF ) is available a certificate from your veterinarian with the license tag attached for citizens. Year 2021 a three-year license the dog is over six months old must. S ) pet registration form Templates provided here may help you of each year County of Muskegon registration of is! By mail, fax or email at petadoption @ oakgov.com in Michigan difficulty uploading your ;. For dog licenses go on sale December 1st for the current rate, January 1st through June 1st please on! Dog must have received new three-year rabies vaccination is due it must always wear a collar with rabies! Time you renew your dog is registered to you s Division with payment which Department in your County regarding requirements... Had one in the City Clerk 's Office possessing or harboring a dog six months or older must. Mail or drop off your application a printable application ( PDF ) is.! Sells dog licenses are available December 1st licensed in Michigan that is more four... Dogs or emotional support dogs do not have to be licensed by the last year the server for! Area that is more than four months old it must always wear a collar with the it..., Michigan renewal occurs the month the rabies vaccination expiration date license Renewals Michigan State requires!, this applies to any area that is more than four months age.